Mercato: Nick De Luca rinnova con gli Wasps – e annuncia il ritiro

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-16-06-44Nick De Luca, ex-centro della nazionale scozzese con cui vanta 43 caps, ha rinnovato il contratto che lo lega agli Wasps fino al termine della stagione in corso, quando si ritirerà dal rugby giocato per passare alla carriera da allenatore dal giugno prossimo – come DoR della Uppingham School, una boarding school che sorge non lontano da Leicester e Northampton.

De Luca, arrivato all’inizio della stagione in corso da Biarritz con un contratto a tempo determinato, si è conquistato sul campo il rinnovo, come dice il director of rugby del club inglese, Dai Young: “We are pleased Nick will be staying with us for the rest of the season. He is a model professional who has done really well each time he has pulled on the Wasps’ shirt. He has a great attitude and adds a lot to the squad through his international experience. Frustratingly for him, he hasn’t been able to make as many appearances as he would’ve liked due to injury, but it’s great to have him back fit now and I’m sure we will see more from him over the remainder of the season, before he starts a new chapter.

De Luca, 32 anni e una lunga carriera alle spalle in cui ha vestito le maglie di Edinburgh, the Borders, Biarritz e Wasps, ha detto di essere “delighted to have extended my stay at Wasps, which was my main goal when I arrived in pre-season, and I really appreciate Dai Young backing me with this contract extension. It’s a great group of players and coaches here at Wasps, the environment is world class and I am thoroughly enjoying being part of this squad. I look forward to playing my part over the coming months and to seeing what we can achieve this season.
It has been an incredibly difficult decision to retire from the game at the end of the season, but one that was made easier after I met Uppingham School Headmaster Richard Maloney and he shared with me his vision for the school. To be able to retire from professional sport on your own terms is becoming rarer these days and I would like to thanks Chris Bell, Wasps’ Head of Off Field Player Development, for his assistance in helping me put steps in place for a smooth transition when I do hang up my boots.”

(fonte commenti: comunicato stampa ufficiale Wasps)

Leave a Reply

