Champions Cup: Connacht, la punizione contro gli Wasps “non si poteva calciare fuori”

Champions Cup finale 2015 Twickenham
Alba Ovale – 2016

L’EPCR ha emesso un comunicato stampa nel pomeriggio di oggi in cui chiarisce che la meta che ha regalato, a tempo scaduto, un clamoroso e importantissimo successo a Connacht sugli Wasps, è nata da una penal’touche che, secondo regolamento, non poteva essere scelta come opzione.

Secondo quanto dice il comunicato (che riportiamo integralmente più sotto), infatti, “(…) as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.”

EPCR, comunque, specifica che nonostante l’errore commesso dal direttore di gara (il francese Mathieu Raynal, che ha preso il posto dell’infortunato Jerome Garces nei minuti finali della sfida dello Sportsground) il risultato della gara non cambierà.

Il successo di ieri manda Connacht in vetta alla classifica della Pool 2, a pari punti con Toulouse e Wasps.

EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday’s European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground.

The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.

However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.

EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.”

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s