Pro12: Warriors, Mike Blair annuncia il ritiro

BlairMike Blair, mediano di mischia dei Glasgow Warriors, ha annunciato stamattina la sua decisione di ritirarsi dal rugby giocato con effetto immediato.

Blair, 35 anni, e’ arrivato a Glasgow ad inizio stagione e giocato 12 partite; entrera’ nello staff tecnico dei Warriors come assistant coach.

85 caps raccolti con la maglia della Scozia, Blair ha giocato a livello di club con Edinburgh Rugby, Brive, Newcastle Falcons e i Glasgow Warriors.

It was always my intention to move into a coaching role and although there was an opportunity to play on next year, I believe now is the right time for me to make that change. I had originally planned to retire at the end of last season, but I’m glad Gregor (Townsend) persuaded me to play on at Glasgow. I’ve really enjoyed the season and it’s a brilliant environment to be part of“, ha detto Blair a glasgowwarriors.org.

With only a few games left this season, I have unfortunately run out of time to be able to regain my fitness before the end of this campaign. My recent spell on the sidelines has allowed me to start coaching earlier than expected, working with scrum-halves Henry Pyrgos, Grayson Hart and Ali Price, all of whom are currently playing very well.” 

“They have been a pleasure to work with and I look forward to working with them more as the season draws to a close and extending this role to the rest of the squad as we move into next season. I’m lucky to have had a long career and to have played with some amazing players and made life-long friends. 
I’ll definitely miss the camaraderie on the pitch and in the changing room, but it’s time to move on and a new challenge awaits.

Blair ha giocato la sua ultima gara lo scorso marzo allo Scotstoun Stadium contro i Cardiff Blues.

Leave a Reply

